August 2019

August 29, 2019
The ECE Department is happy to announce that Sumati Sehajpal will be joining our department on September 1, 2019 as Assistant Teaching Professor.
August 29, 2019
Yingying Chen will serve as the inaugural Associate Undergraduate Director of the ECE department. Yingying has been an outstanding contributor to the department's mission through her world class research program, student mentoring and leadership roles at WINLAB. The ECE Department is grateful that she has taken on this newly created role in ECE and work with Undergraduate Director Wade Trappe, to meet the various challenges of our increasingly successful undergraduate program. Please join us in welcoming Yingying as the Associate Undergraduate Director.
August 26, 2019
ECE Associate Professor Waheed Bajwa is the recipient of a new NSF award for the project entitled “Distributed Machine Learning in the Age of Fast Data Streams.” This is a three-year $450,000 project.
August 19, 2019
ECE Assistant Professor Sheng Wei is the recipient of a new NSF award for the project "Content-Based Viewport Prediction Framework for Live Virtual Reality Streaming." This is a three-year $496,085 collaborative award led by Rutgers with Northeastern University and Texas State University. Rutgers' share of this award is $214,874.
August 16, 2019
Dean Thomas Farris has just announced that Distinguished Professor Yicheng Lu will receive the 2019 School of Engineering (SoE) Faculty of the Year Award. This award recognizes exceptional contributions of a SoE faculty member to the School of Engineering, the University, the engineering profession, the scientific community and/or society at large.

July 2019

July 30, 2019
Professor Grigore Burdea is the lead author of the paper titled "Novel Therapeutic Game Controller for Telerehabilitation of Spastic Hands: Two Case Studies" that has won the best paper award at the 13th International Conference on Virtual Rehabilitation (ICVR) that was held in Tel Aviv, Israel in July 2019. The goal of the ICVR conference series is to provide an overview of applied and clinical research on technologies in the field of virtual rehabilitation.
July 25, 2019
ECE Associate Professor Laleh Najafizadeh is the recipient of an exploratory EAGER NSF award for the project "Adapting Multi-Modal BCI-Based Assistive Technologies for Patients with High Spinal Cord Injury." This is a 1 year $120,000 award from the NSF.
July 25, 2019
ECE Professor Yingying Chen is a recipient of a new National Science Foundation (NSF) award for the project titled "Software Hardware Architecture Co-design for Low-power Heterogeneous Edge Devices" This is a three-year project of $500,000 in collaboration with Binghamton University. The Rutgers share of the award is $320,000.
July 19, 2019
ECE Assistant Professor Anand Sarwate (PI) and ECE Associate Professor Waheed Bajwa(co-PI) are the recipients of a new NSF award for the project titled "ESTRELLA: Exploiting Structure in Tensors for Representation, Estimation, and Limits of Learning Algorithms." This is a three-year $499,976 award.
July 19, 2019
ECE Associate Professor Saman Zonouz is the recipient of  a new Department of Energy (DOE) award for the project titled "Deep Cyber-Physical Situational Awareness for Energy Systems:  A Secure Foundation for Next-Generation Energy Management." This is a three-year $2.7M collaborative project between Rutgers, Texas A&M University, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Pacific Northwest National Labs and Sandia National Labs. Rutgers' share of this award is $500,000.