September 2023

September 8, 2023
Zhuolun Meng is a PhD student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, working under the supervision of Professor Mehdi Javanmard. His research primarily focuses on biomedical devices, with a specific emphasis on the rapid and accurate detection of coral health status. This is crucial for ensuring the sustainability of coral, as it plays a vital role in various aspects of human life and the environment.   

August 2023

August 29, 2023
A team of WINLAB researchers led by Distinguished Professor Narayan Mandayam (PI) along with co-PIs Ivan Seskar (Chief Technologist, WINLAB) and Chung-Tse Michael Wu (Associate Professor, ECE), are the recipients of an award from the National Science Foundation under the Spectrum and Wireless Innovation enabled by Future Technologies- Satellite-Terrestrial Coexistence (SWIFT-SAT) program for the project "Software Defined Radio based Emulation of SAT-Terrestrial Network Co
August 23, 2023
Narayan Mandayam, Yingying Chen, and Ivan Seskar received a new grant from National Science Foundation titled "FMRG: Cyber: Manufacturing USA: NextG-Enabled Manufacturing of the Future (NextGEM)."    This is a large project with a total award of $2,999,632 for 4 years. Yuebin Guo from MAE is the project PI, Narayan Mandayam, Yingying Chen together with Jinggang Yi and Weihong Guo (both from MAE) serve as Co-PI, and Ivan Seskar serves as Senior Personnel.   
August 22, 2023
Distinguished Professor Narayan Mandayam has assumed the position of Acting Director of WINLAB, the Rutgers University Wireless Information Network Laboratory. The one-year appointment became effective on August 1, 2023. Dr. Mandayam, who has served as WINLAB’s associate director and as ECE department chair, steps into the acting directorship while long-term director and ECE Distinguished Professor Dipankar Raychaudhuri is on sabbatical.  
August 17, 2023
Hang Liu received a new grant from the National Science Foundation titled "ExpandQISE: Track 1: Analog quantum simulation of non-Markovian dynamics of multi-qubit systems". It is a collaboration between Rutgers and the New York Institute of Technology. Our share is $195K. (Total award is $650K for three years.)
August 17, 2023
Umer Hassan received an award from National Science Foundation (NSF) for the project “PFI-TT: Immuno-Dx: A Biomedical Platform Technology for Personalized Diagnostics”. This is a 2-year, single PI project with a total budget of $550,000.  
August 15, 2023
Emina Soljanin received a new NSF grant titled Collaborative Research: CIF: Small: Maximizing Coding Gain in Coded Computing. It is a collaboration between Rutgers and Texas A&M University. Rutgers is the project's lead institution, with a share of $375K. (Total award is $600K over three years.) 
August 15, 2023
ECE Associate Professor Laleh Najafizadeh is the PI for a new NSF award, from the “Integrative Strategies for Understanding Neural and Cognitive Systems (NCS)” program, for her research project titled "NCS-FO: Uncovering Dynamics of Neural Activity of Subjective Estimation of Time”.  This is a three-year project with a total budget of $879,091.  The Co-PI on this project is Professor Tracey Shors from the Department of Psychology.
August 14, 2023
ECE Professor Ivan Marsic has received a continued grant from NIH/NBIB on the project "Development of a Video-based Personal Protective Equipment Monitoring System."   

July 2023

July 28, 2023
ECE Alumna Sennur Ulukus is the first woman faculty member from engineering to be named a Distinguished University Professor at the University of Maryland. The title is the highest appointment bestowed on a tenured faculty member; it is a recognition not just of excellence, but of impact and significant contribution to the nominee’s field, knowledge, profession, and/or practice.