August 2022

August 17, 2022
Rutgers University is one of four partner institutions, along with Florida Atlantic University, University of Central Florida, and Lehman College, in a Columbia University led team that has received a $26 million, five-year NSF award to create a new Gen-4 NSF Engineering Research Center for Smart Streetscapes (CS3). 
August 15, 2022
The Rutgers University Wireless Information Network Laboratory (WINLAB) and the School of Engineering have been awarded a major National Science Foundation (NSF) Engineering Research Center (ERC) with Columbia University, Florida Atlantic University, the University of Central Florida, and Lehman College. The new Engineering Research Center for Smart Streetscapes (CS3) will be supported for five years with $26 million; renewable for an additional five years, for a total of up to $52 million.

July 2022

July 25, 2022
ECE and WINLAB Professor Yingying Chen is the recipient of an award from the National Institute of Health R21 for the project “Smartphone App to Examine Effects of Cannabis Use on Driving Behavior.” This is a two-year collaborative project of $409,236 with Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. Yingying serves as a MPI on this project.
July 25, 2022
Sasan Haghani has joined the ECE Department as a Non-Tenure Track Visiting Professor. He received his M.Sc and Ph.D. in the Electrical Engineering from the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada in 2002 and in 2007, respectively. In 2021, Sasan was awarded UDC Founder's Day Dr. Marjorie Holloman Parker Distinguished Educator’s Award.
July 25, 2022
The Rutgers Board of Governors appointed Shriram Ramanathan as the first holder of the Rodkin-Weintraub Chair in Engineering. The chair was established in 2018 through a gift from the Rodkin Family Foundation and a matching gift by an anonymous donor.
July 25, 2022
Guosong Yang has joined the ECE Department as a new Assistant Professor. Guosong received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Chanpaign, IL in 2013 and 2017, respectively. His research interests include switched and hybrid systems, networked control systems, learning in games, and their applications to cyber-physical systems and network security. His work has won the ACM SIGBED HSCC Best Paper Award in 2019. 
July 25, 2022
Daniel Burbano Lombana has joined the ECE Department as a new Assistant Professor. Daniel received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Naples Federico II, Italy in 2015, and his M.S.c degree in Industrial Automation from the National University of Colombia in 2012. His research interests include dynamical systems and control theory with an emphasis on distributed network systems, collective animal behavior, swarm intelligence, and robot autonomy.
July 21, 2022
Professor Waheed Bajwa will serve as the ECE Graduate Director for a period of 3 years (2022-2025). We feel grateful that Waheed stepped up to take on this important role for our department. Waheed has a very strong background in research, teaching and student advising. We look forward to working with Waheed closely to bring our graduate program to a new level in the coming years.     
July 21, 2022
Associate Professor Chung-Tse Michael Wu will serve as the ECE Associate Undergraduate Director for AY 2022-2023. We are grateful that he has stepped up to take on this role. Going forward, on top of his excellent research work and equipped by his rich mentoring/advising experiences in both undergraduate and graduate students, Michael will serve as the interface between the university/SoE and ECE to coordinate student tours,open houses, and various related events.
July 2, 2022
Dario Pompili and Tuyen X. Tran (Rutgers PhD. 2018) have won the  IEEE Vehicular Technology Society 2022 Jack Neubauer Memorial Award recognizing the best systems paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology for their paper entitled "Joint Task Offloading and Resource Allocation for Multi-Server Mobile-Edge Computing Networks".  The award consists of a certificate and $1,000 divided equally among all authors.   The award will presented tat the upcoming VTC2022-Fall conference in London, September 26-29, 2022.