April 2017

April 27, 2017
We would like to congratulate this year’s senior students who participated in the ECE capstone program and their advisers for a job well done! Over 200 students participated in this year capstone program, forming 55 teams. Our students’ capabilities, creativity, and engineering skills were reflected in this year projects.
April 27, 2017
Professor Emina Soljanin has received the 2017 Outstanding Engineering Alumni Award from the College of Engineering at Texas A&M University. The citation for the award reads: 
April 24, 2017
The WINLAB team – Jiachen Chen, Sugang Li and Yanyong Zhang– received the Best Demo Award at the 2nd ACM/IEEE International Conference on Internet of Things - Design and Implementation (IoTDI), held this week in Pittsburgh. The demo is entitled “Motion Triggered Surveillance Camera using MF-IoT.”
April 20, 2017
Waheed Bajwa has been voted ECE Professor of the Year by the Rutgers Engineering Governing Council (EGC). This is the second time in a row that he has received this recognition from the EGC. Congratulations, Waheed!
April 17, 2017
President Robert Barchi has announced that Professor Waheed Bajwa has been selected to receive a Presidential Fellowship for Teaching Excellence for the year 2016-17. This recognition is being bestowed on Waheed based on his outstanding teaching accomplishments at Rutgers as documented in his recent evaluation for promotion to Associate Professor. The fellowship carries with it a grant of $1000 from the Trustees and recognizes Waheed as one of the most distinguished young faculty members at Rutgers.
April 11, 2017
The Rutgers IEEE Robotics team won at the New York and West Virginia Qualifying Rounds and will now move on to compete at the World Championship. VEX Robotics World Championship, now entering its 10th year, will bring together the top 1,400 student-led robotics teams from around the world to Louisville, Kentucky, on April 19-25, 2017. Congratulations on your excellent performance in the qualifying rounds and best of luck in the World Champsionship !
April 10, 2017
The Rutgers Board of Governors has announced that Dr. Waheed Bajwa and Dr. Saman Zonouz have been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure effective July 1, 2017. Congratulations on this well deserved accomplishment Waheed and Saman ! We look forward to your continued success!
April 10, 2017
President Robert Barchi has announced that Professor Hana Godrich has been selected to receive a Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching for the year 2016-17. The award carries an honorarium of $1000 and will be presented to Hana and fellow honorees at a reception to be held in the Assembly Room at Winants Hall on Thursday, May 4 at 2 pm.
April 10, 2017
The final match for the ECE Department Table Tennis Tournament for the academic year 2016-2017 was played on March 2, 2017 between student Shreyas Rao and Zeyang Wang. It was a close match (10 — 12, 9 — 11, 11 — 5, 11 — 6, 12 — 10 ,6 — 11, 3 — 11) but Zeyang Wang emerged the winner.

March 2017

March 29, 2017
Jumana Dakka has received a GAANN Fellowship for Spring 2017. Jumana is a second year graduate student and is working with Prof. Shantenu Jha in the Research in Advanced Distributed Cyberinfrastructure and Application Laboratory. As an undergraduate, she majored in biomedical engineering at Rutgers University. In the past she has worked on hemodynamics both at Rutgers and the University of Pennsylvania.