May 2015

May 19, 2015
Shubham Jain received the Best Presentation Award at the PhD Forum held at this year's ACM MobiSys conference in Florence, Italy. Shubham is a PhD student in Prof. Marco Gruteser's research group and she presented her dissertation ideas on 'Gradient Profiling for Pedestrian Services'. As further explained on the workshop website below, the PhD Forum provides a supportive environment for doctoral students to present and discuss their dissertation research both with their peers and with a panel of experienced researchers from academia and industry.
May 11, 2015
Prof. Narayan Mandayam along with Cem U. Saraydar and David J. Goodman, have been selected for the 2015 Communications Society Award for Advances in Communication for their paper on "Efficient Power Control via Pricing in Wireless Data Networks", IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. 50, No. 2, February 2002, pp. 291-303. The citation for the award reads "Award for Advances in Communication - Given to an outstanding paper published in any IEEE Communications Society publication in the previous 15 calendar years".
May 11, 2015
Nicole M. DiLeo received the Science, Mathematics And Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship. The Science, Mathematics And Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship for Service Program (see ) has been established by the Department of Defense (DoD) to support undergraduate and graduate students pursuing degrees in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The program aims to increase the number of civilian scientists and engineers working at DoD laboratories.
May 1, 2015
ECE Professors Shantenu Jha and Dario Pompili were selected to be named as Chancellor's Scholars The Chancellor's Scholar initiative was created created through the New Brunswick Strategic Plan to recognize truly outstanding and highly promising scholars at Rutgers University-New Brunswick. As a Chancellor’s Scholars, Shantenu and Dario will each receive $5,000 towards their research accounts for innovative research initiatives and/or program development for up to five years.
May 1, 2015
ECE Capstone team won $10K at the 7x24 Exchange Metro New York University Challenge! The 7x24 Exchange Metro New York put in place a senior year design project (capstone project) competition with theme datacenter energy efficiency. The event took place today at Credit Suisse offices in NYC.

April 2015

April 11, 2015
The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Congratulates the ECE Travel Award Winners ECE Research Excellence In support of travel for the student author of a paper accepted for publication at a research conference, ECE Research Excellence Awards of $300 are awarded to each student. The winners are:       Xianyi Gao Wen-Chiang Hong Rui Li Yanbiao Pan Zahra Shakeri Yulong Yang  
April 11, 2015
ECE student Gradeigh D. Clark received a 2015 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship! Gradeigh is pursuing a PhD under the supervision of Dr. Janne Lindqvist and has an undergraduate degree form ECE Rutgers.

March 2015

March 31, 2015
ECE student Xianyi Gao received a 2015 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GFRP) Award. Xianyi is pursuing a PhD under the supervision of Prof. Janne Lindqvist, and has an undergraduate degree from ECE Rutgers. The GRFP stipend is $34,000 per year for a maximum of three years, and Rutgers will receive a $12,000 Cost of Education Allowance in lieu of all required tuition and fees for each of the three years. NSF received over 16,000 applications for the 2015 competition, and made 2,000 fellowship award offers.

February 2015

February 12, 2015
The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering congratulates the following faculty for being recognized with the prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award in 2015. Waheed Bajwa, NSF CAREER Award for the project "Signal Processing Through the Lens of Geometry". The grant has been awarded by the CCF division of CISE directorate. The total award is $550K and its duration is five years.

January 2015

January 25, 2015
It is with great sadness that the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering announces the death of Professor David Daut, who died on Saturday, January 24, 2015.