Latest News


Congratulations to Gradeigh Clark for receiving full registration and scholarship award of $700.00 to attend the 2014 SOUPS, to be held at Facebook Headquarters in Menlo Park, California. Gradeigh is an ECE PhD student, working under the supervision of   Prof. Janne Lindqvist.


Congratulations to Dionysios S. Kalogerias for receiving the National Science Foundation (NSF) travel award to attend the IEEE International Conference on Acoustics Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP), held in Florence Italy, May 4-9, 2014. The award includes a check of $1,100 for travel reimbursement, and the award selection was based on the paper reviews.

At ICASSP, Dionysios presented the paper “Mobi-...


Dr. Janne Lindqvist interdisciplinary security work, to appear in MobiSys'14, the tier-1 conference on mobile systems, is getting nice publicity around the world.

In that work, Prof. Janne Lindqvist and his students, Michael Sherman (former ECE undergrad, and currently WINLAB staff), Gradeigh Clark (ECE PhD student), Yulong Yang (ECE PhD student) and Shridatt Sugrim (ECE MS and WINLAB staff), collaborated with Prof. Antti Oulasvirta of Max-Planck...


Assistant Professor   Waheed Bajwa has been selected to participate in the Army Research Office (ARO) Young Investigator Program (YIP). The objectives of YIP are to attract outstanding young university faculty members to Army research, and to support and encourage their teaching and research careers.


ECE Capstone Design courses are senior-level project design courses that require students to use all their ECE skills to solve a real-world engineering problem or develop a viable product. With the mentoring of the capstone course faculty advisor, this course integrates all the ECE academic studies with an open-ended design project. The Top Ten projects voted by the Judges are listed below.  The first three are awarded a monetary prizes by the ECE...


Dr. Shantenu Jha has been awarded a Board of Trustees Research Fellowship for Scholarly Excellence as one of the university's most distinguished young faculty members.

This award is bestowed in recognition of Dr. Jha's outstanding scholarly accomplishments in his years at Rutgers, as documented in the evaluation that has led to his recent promotion to Associate Professor.


ECE Alumna Aylin Yener, currently Professor at Penn State University, is the recipient of the 2014 IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications for her paper "Optimum Transmission Policies for Battery Limited Energy Harvesting Nodes", IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, Vol. 11, No. 3, March 2012, pp. 1180-1189.

The award will be presented at IEEE ICC 2014 in Sydney,...


The Warren Township Committee announced the results of the Township Utility Hazard Inventory and Remediation Project conducted by a group of volunteers known as the "Warren Township Utility Advisory Committee (WTUAC)."

The Hazard Inventory was conducted in the fall of 2013 to:

  1)   Document potential threats (hazards) to the townships electrical delivery system,
  2)   Report the hazards to the utility companies (JCP&L, PSEG),


ECE alumnus Todd Katz' startup company, ThermoVolt, was one of seven start-up companies from around the country this year selected in renewable energy to compete for the MIT Clean Energy Prize. ThermoVolt is a direct result of Todd's Capstone project at ECE Rutgers in 2013.

The team's capstone project had won first prize at the...