Latest News


Dr. Shantenu Jha has been awarded a Board of Trustees Research Fellowship for Scholarly Excellence as one of the university's most distinguished young faculty members.

This award is bestowed in recognition of Dr. Jha's outstanding scholarly accomplishments in his years at Rutgers, as documented in the evaluation that has led to his recent promotion to Associate Professor.


ECE Alumna Aylin Yener, currently Professor at Penn State University, is the recipient of the 2014 IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications for her paper "Optimum Transmission Policies for Battery Limited Energy Harvesting Nodes", IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, Vol. 11, No. 3, March 2012, pp. 1180-1189.

The award will be presented at IEEE ICC 2014 in Sydney,...


The Warren Township Committee announced the results of the Township Utility Hazard Inventory and Remediation Project conducted by a group of volunteers known as the "Warren Township Utility Advisory Committee (WTUAC)."

The Hazard Inventory was conducted in the fall of 2013 to:

  1)   Document potential threats (hazards) to the townships electrical delivery system,
  2)   Report the hazards to the utility companies (JCP&L, PSEG),


ECE alumnus Todd Katz' startup company, ThermoVolt, was one of seven start-up companies from around the country this year selected in renewable energy to compete for the MIT Clean Energy Prize. ThermoVolt is a direct result of Todd's Capstone project at ECE Rutgers in 2013.

The team's capstone project had won first prize at the...


Prof. Dipankar Raychaudhuri, Distinguished Professor and Director of  WINLAB received the 2014 Innovative Program Award by the ECE Department Heads Association (ECEDHA). The awards ceremony took place at the ECEDHA Annual Conference and ECExpo, in Napa, CA, on...


ECE faculty member, Dr. Kristin Dana, was the computer vision task leader on the RABIT bridge deck assessment tool developed by CAIT (Rutgers Center for Advanced Infrastructure and Transportation) and the Federal Highway Administration. The project received the 2014 Charles Pankow Award for Innovation at the ASCE Opal Awards ceremony in Arlington, VA on March 20, 2014. The computer vision group included ECE graduate students ...


This award is an important opportunity for the Rutgers Engineering community to recognize the special achievements and contributions of its dedicated faculty members.

This is the second year in a row that an ECE Faculty received this award; Dr. Wade Trappe was recipient of the   2013 Outstanding Engineering Faculty Award.


Wade Trappe.jpg

Prof. Wade Trappe has been awarded the 2014 ECE Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Maryland. This prestigious award is presented annually to alumni who have provided leadership and meritorious contributions in the broad field of engineering.

There will be an award ceremony at UMD on May 9. Congratulations to Prof. Trappe.

The Rutgers Today interview with Prof. Janne Lindqvist has been posted on YouTube. Prof. Lindqvist discusses how mobile phones track your location. Professor Janne Lindqvist, with the help of his students, has developed a new privacy mobile application that lets you know when...