Yicheng Lu receives Faculty of the Year Award at SOE reception

Yicheng Lu received the 2019 School of Engineering (SoE) Faculty of the Year Award.  This award recognizes exceptional contributions of a SoE faculty member to the School of Engineering, the University, the engineering profession, the scientific community and/or society at large.

Yicheng Lu, a distinguished professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Paul S. and Mary W. Monroe Faculty Scholar, has made significant contributions to the field of micro- and nano-electronic materials and devices which are used in the semiconductor industry. He is also a member of the graduate faculty in the Departments of Materials Science and Engineering and Biomedical Engineering, and served as the director of Rutgers’ Microelectronics Research Laboratory (MERL) for 20 years.

Lu’s research group has pioneered various ZnO-based devices, including Schottky diode, high contrast and high-speed UV light modulator, wireless UV photodetector, monolithically integrated RF frequency tuning device for smart sensors, 3D electrodes enhancing LED and solar cell efficiency, as well as thin film transistors for biosensor and inverters of self-powered wearable systems.

He has published over 230 refereed papers and holds 24 U.S. patent awards. As a well-recognized researcher in the ZnO field, Lu is the chair of the International Advisory Board of International Workshop of ZnO and Related Materials (IWZnO).

His academic accomplishments include serving as advisor to 27 graduated doctoral students. Under his mentoring, many of his students received prestigious awards, including Rhodes Scholar, NSF Graduate Fellowship, National Research Council Fellowship, and a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship.