School of Engineering Honors Faculty Excellence


The Rutgers University School of Engineering celebrated the 2017 Faculty Award winners, following a nomination and selection process that included the School’s faculty, alumni, and friends. In recognition of their contributions to the School of Engineering through their achievements in scholarship, teaching, and service Dipanakar Raychaudhuri, Distinguished Professor of Electical and Computer Engineering, has been named Faculty of the Year.

Dipanakar Raychaudhuri is a distinguished professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, having played an integral role in the engineering community since he joined Rutgers University-New Brunswick in 2001. Director of the internationally-recognized Wireless Information Network Lab (WINLAB), Raychaudhuri serves as principal investigator for several multi-institutional projects supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF). These include MobilityFirst, which revolves around designing future Internet architecture (FIA)­, and ORBIT—geared toward developing an open-access wireless network testbed.

Active in technology entrepreneurship, Raychaudhuri is the technical advisor for several government organizations and companies. He has written over 200 journal and conference papers, as well as 10 book chapters, on research areas that include future network architectures and protocols, wireless systems and technology, experimental prototyping and network research testbeds. In addition, Raychaudhuri coauthored Emerging Wireless Technologies and the Future Mobile Internet, published in 2011. He holds 15 patents on topics including broadband wireless networks, MAC protocols, digital video, and VSAT networks. 

The School of Engineering is also pleased to announce the following faculty promotions and reappointments:
Promotion to Distinguished Professor
Athina Petropulu Distinguished Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Promotion to Associate Professor
Waheed Uz Zaman Bajwa Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Saman Zonouz Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Mehdi Javanmard Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Anand Sarwate Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering