List of Medal of Excellence and Distinguished Alumni Honorees

The Medal of Excellence Awards, established in 2006, recognize graduates of Rutgers University School of Engineering who have distinguished themselves professionally since graduation in industry, academia, government, research, and business. The awards also recognize alumni who have distinguished themselves in other areas including continued involvement in the School of Engineering and social responsibility. The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering has a long list of alumni who have pursued successful careers in academia, industry, or the government.

Honorees are celebrated at a networking dinner event that is attended by alumni and SoE faculty and students, as well as an impressive representation of local industry members and other distinuguished guests.
Robert J. Cenker (MS'77) - 2019 Dean's Award for Service
NASA Payload Specialist, 1986 Space Shuttle Columbia.  As a payload specialist representing RCA Astro-Electronics on the 1986 STS 61-C space shuttle Columbia, Robert Cenker revolutionized cable TV by deploying an RCA Satcom satellite. During his six-day, 2.5-million-mile mission, Cenker also performed a number of physiological tests and experimented with an infrared imaging camera. As the final mission before the Challenger disaster, it was dubbed “the end of innocence” for the space shuttle program.
Terry J. Hart (MS'78) - 2019 Dean's Award for Service
NASA Mission Specialist, 1984 Space Shuttle Challenger.  Lehigh University professor Terry Hart is a former NASA astronaut, pilot, and telecommunications executive. As a member of NASA’s 1978 "Group 8", Hart logged 168 hours as a mission specialist aboard the STS-41-C Challenger in April 1984. He made history by using a robotic arm to retrieve the disabled Solar Maximum Satellite for repairs.
Emeka O. Oguh (BS'05) - 2017 Distinguished Young Alumnus
Founder and CEO of PeopleJoy, a benefits platform company that provides employee retention solutions focused on financial wellness.
Roman P. Pacewicz (BS'87) - 2017 Distinguished Achievement in Industry
Chief product officer at AT&T Business.
Dorin I. Comaniciu, Ph.D. (Ph.D.'00) – 2016 Distinguished Alumnus in Research
Vice president of medical imaging technologies at Siemens Healthcare, having global responsibility for the oversight of key research and development functions.
Cristina Comaniciu, Ph.D. (Ph.D.'02) – 2012 Distinguished Young Alumnus
Associate professor at Stevens Institute of Technology.
Randal Pinkett, Ph.D. (BS’95) - 2011 Distinguished Alumnus in Industry
Entrepreneur, speaker, author and community servant. He is the founder, chairman and CEO of BCT Partners, a multimillion-dollar consulting firm based in Newark, NJ, that specializes in program management, information technology and public policy.
Dev Ittycheria (BS’89) – 2010 Distinguished Alumnus in Industry
Engineer and entrepreneur who launched BladeLogic, a software company that fundamentally changed how people provision servers and applications. He was recently appointed to serve on the Board of Directors of athenahealth Inc, a leading provider of web-based practice management, electronic health record (EHR), and patient communication services to medical groups.
Hugh Martin (BS’78) – 2010 Medal of Excellence
CEO of Pacific Biosciences, where he has led a team of advanced optics engineers, advanced semi-conductor process design engineers, a parallel computing group, enzymologists, and a surface chemistry group in developing a DNA sequencing machine that can unravel an individual’s entire genome in minutes – a technology with enormous implications for more effective cancer treatment and drug delivery.
Keiko Harvey (BS’72) – 2008 Distinguished Alumna in Industry
Retired as senior vice president for Video Network Services for Verizon Communications. Throughout her remarkable career, she held positions in responsibility in engineering, sales, finance, and network operations.
Jeffrey Biamonte (BS’95) - 2007 Distinguished Young Alumnus
Member of IBM’s design team who has made significant innovative contributions to the power distribution and heating/cooling characteristics of the Complementary Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor based high-end server product line.
Mir A. Imran (BS’77) – 2007 Distinguished Alumnus in Industry
Engineer, inventor, entrepreneur,and angel investor who has pioneered the development of the automatic implantable defibrillator, the EEG monitoring sensor array, a cooled RF ablation catheter for the treatment of ventricular arrhythmias, and a low-pressure balloon and aspirator system for use in catheter based interventions – among his more than 200 inventions.

For a complete list of School of Engineering honorees, click here.