Latest News


"From Informed Human Brains to Society-Scale Silicon Brains: Uncovering the DNA of Social Knowledge"

Dr. Narayan B. Mandayam, who is currently the Peter D. Cherasia Faculty Scholar and Professor of ECE at Rutgers, is the recipient of a prestigious NAKFI Grant Award announced by the National Academies on May 9, 2013. The National Academies Keck Futures Initiative (NAKFI) is a program...

The Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Capstone Design Program came to a close after presentation of impressive posters and formal judging by our panel of ECE Advisory Board members. This year's version of Poster Day seemed particularly interesting and exciting with over 40 projects, lots of cool demos, eager and articulate presenters and an audience that was shoulder to shoulder in the ECE building for well over two hours.


This year, the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering won third place in the Engineering Cup! For those of you who don't know, the Engineering Cup was a week long sporting event that consisted of volleyball, football, basketball, soccer, and Frisbee tournaments.

Thank you to all of you who came out to participate. Special shout out to Justin Cruz, Sean Wang, Sheldon Wong, Damon Show, Scott Xu, David P, and David Andres...


The ECE Department's IEEE student branch was highlighted in The Institute of IEEE in the April issue. Elie Rosen, the branch president described the group's robotics activities.

Rutgers branch built a 90 kilogram autonomous robot named the 'Navi'. The Navi was designed and built by ECE students to compete in the Intelligent Ground Vehicle Competition held annually in Rochester, Michigan....


ECE Student Moustafa AbdelBaky received the IBM Ph.D. Scholarship for a third year in a row!

This is a highly competitive award and recognizes the student as well as the quality of the student's institution.

Moustafa is pursuing his Ph.D. in Electrical & Computer Engineering.

Moustafa is currently working on providing cloud abstractions on all three levels (infrastructure, platform, and software) for science and engineering applications using hybrid infrastructure...


The School of Engineering has voted for Dr. Chris Rose to receive this year's Teaching Award for Electrical and Computer Engineering. This award is given out to a professor in each department who the students feel have done an excellent job in teaching this past academic year.

The Award will be present to Dr. Rose at this year's Engineering Governing Council Leadership...


A Celebration of Professor Paul Panayotatos' Life

was held on
Thursday April 25th at 3:00 PM

in the CoRE Building Auditorium
96 Frelinghuysen Road
Busch Campus
Piscataway, NJ 08854

In memory of Professor Paul Panayotatos and to honor his exceptional service to the School of Engineering, we have established the "Paul Panayotatos Scholarship" for graduate students in Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Donations can be designated to the ECE Department in memory of Professor Panayotatos.

Contributions can be made online at this link:...


It is with great sadness that the School of Engineering announces the death of   Paul Panayotatos,   an internationally respected researcher and professor of electrical and computer engineering at Rutgers University, who died on Sunday, April 7, following a long illness.

During his 30 year career as a faculty member of Rutgers School of Engineering, Dr....

Congratulations to Aditya Devarakonda, Michael Koval and Jennifer Padgett (class of 2012) for receiving the National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship!

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and...