Latest News


ECE Alumna Aylin Yener has been elevated to IEEE Fellow for contributions to wireless communications and wireless information security. Dr. Yener is currently Professor of Electrical Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University.

Dr. Yener is also the recipient of the 2014 IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications for her paper "Optimum Transmission Policies for Battery...


Prof. Wade Trappe was elected Vice Chair of the IEEE   Information Forensics and Security Technical Committee. The one-year term of Vice Chair will start on 2015/1/1. The Vice Chair position automatically succeeds to the position of Chair (2016-2017) then Past Chair.

This is a very visible position in the IEEE Signal Processing Society,...


ECE MS student Priyank Bharad and PhD student Eun Kyung Lee working with Prof. Dario Pompili received today the Best Demo Award at the IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad hoc and Sensor Systems (MASS).

IEEE MASS 2014, the 11th IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad hoc and Sensor Systems, was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania from October 27-30, 2014.

The demo title is "Towards Reconfigurable...


ECE PhD student Shubham Jain's project on sensing and applications for improving pedestrian safety has won the AT&T Connected Intersections Challenge in the category Solutions for Pedestrians & Cyclists - Large Organization Recognition Award.   Shubham is a PhD student working with Prof. Marco Gruteser   at   WINLAB.   This is a joint work with Carlo Borgiattino (visiting Rutgers),...


Shantenu Jha received an NSF grant of $1.25M for the project "Middleware and High Performance Analytics Libraries for Scalable Data Science". This is part of a $5M grant led by Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, for which Shantenu is the middleware architect.

The NSF press release about the project can be found at:


PhD candidate Yulong Yang received a scholarship to attend Learning from Authoritative Security Experiment Results - The LASER Workshop.

The scholarship includes a registration of $150 and $1000 for travel costs.

Yulong will be presenting the paper "Text Entry Method Affects Password Security", which is co-authored with his advisor, Prof. Janne Lindqvist and Antti Oulasvirta of Aalto University.

The paper...


The paper "Elastic Pathing: Your Speed is Enough to Track You" by Xianyi Gao (ECE PhD student), Bernhard Firner (ECE PhD, ECE instructor), Shridatt Sugrim (ECE MS, WINLAB staff), Victor Kaiser-Pendergrast (CS undergraduate student), Yulong Yang (ECE PhD candidate), and Prof. Janne Lindqvist received "the Best Paper Nominee award" at UbiComp 2014.

UbiComp 2014 is a highly selective tier-1 conference...


Dr. Saman Zonouz received a B.S. degree in Computer Engineering, Sharif University of Technology in 2006, and his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2011. Before joining Rutgers he was Assistant Professor at the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department of the University of Miami.   Dr. Zonouz's research interests include security and privacy, cyber-physical systems, intrusion detection...


Dr. Mehdi Javanmard received a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering Georgia Institute of Technology in 2002, and his M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 2004 and 2008, respectively. Before joining Rutgers he was Postdoctoral Researcher at the Stanford Genome Technology Center of Stanford University.

Dr. Javanmard's research exploits emerging micro and nanotechnologies, electronic, photonic, and microelectromechanical...


Prof. Wade Trappe was elected to serve on the Signal Processing Society Board of Governors in the capacity of Regional Director-at-Large for Regions 1-6 for the term 1 January 2015 through 31 December 2016. This is a significant achievement, Dr. Trappe was elected directly by the IEEE Signal Processing Society membership around the world, which is testament of the international recognition that he enjoys as a researcher.